Receiving Stations, Converter Stations, Switching Stations, and other control facilities
Javascript is required to view this map.

Moving LADWP High Voltage Around
There are a few types of high voltage substations used by the DWP which act as a bridge between power plants and local distribution. The principal type is called a receiving station. High voltage AC lines, typically from 115,000 volts to 230,000 volts, coming from power plants, enter the grid at receiving stations, where the voltage is stepped down to 34,500 volts or less, in long transformer banks. From there, the power is sent via underground or above-ground wires to surrounding distributing stations, which reduce the current further to send to customers.

There are 23 receiving stations in the DWP system. Most of them are designated by a letter in the alphabet, reflecting the sequence in which they were built, and most also have a name, usually derived from a nearby street. Each receiving station has racks and rows of high voltage equipment in a yard larger than a few city blocks, and usually a control house facing the street, designed to reflect the architectural styles and aspirations of the time it was built.

In addition to the receiving stations, there are a few switching stations in the DWP system, two DC to AC converter stations, and other control and support facilities that manage and maintain the electrical distribution network.